Bhagirath Prasad

Political Party: Bharatiya Janata Party
State: Madhya Pradesh
Father's Name:
Mother's Name:
Date of Birth:
Place of Birth:
Marital Status:
Spouse's Name:
No. of Sons:
No.of Daughters:
Educational Qualifications:
Permanent Address:
Present Address:
Assets: 1 crore
Criminal Cases:
Politician: MP


Bhagirath Prasad (born 3 July 1947) is an Indian Member of Parliament, who represents the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Lok Sabha(lower house), for the Bhind Lok Sabha constituency in Madhya Pradesh state. Education Qualifications:B.A. (First Class First);M.A. (Political Science), First Class First, Gold Medalist; M. Phil, Ph.D. Educated at Govt. M.J.S. Collage, Bhind; Faculty of Social Sciences, Jiwaji University, Gwalior and School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi Countries Visited:1991 : England, France and Ireland (Official) 2008 : Taiwan (Official).


1975 – 2007 IAS
1976 – 1977 Assistant Collector, Bastar
1977 – 1980 Sub Divisional Magistrate, Dabra, Gwalior
1980 – 1982 Administrator, Municipal Corporation, Gwalior
1982 – 1989 Collector – Ratlam, Jabalpur, Indore
1989 – 1991 Additional Secretary, Housing and Environment, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
1991 – 1992 Secretary, Human Rights Commission of Madhya Pradesh
1992 – 1994 MD, MP Road Transport Corporation
1994 – 1996 Commissioner, Bhopal and Hoshangabad Divisions
1996 – 1999 Secretary, and Commissioner, Public Relations, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
1997 – 1998 In Addition Director General (Vice Chancellor), Makhan Lal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism, Bhopal
1999 – 2003 Principal Secretary, Transport, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
2003 – 2004 Principal Secretary, Tribal, SC, OBC and Minority Development, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
2004 – 2004 Principal Secretary, Co-operation, Chairman (Administrator), Madhya Pradesh State Apex Co-operative Bank and State Land Development Bank, Bhopal
2004 – 2005 Principal Secretary, Home, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
2005 – 2007 Principal Secretary, Higher Education, Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
2007 – 2009 Vice Chancellor, Devi Ahilya University, Indore
May 2014 Elected to 16th Lok Sabha
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
15 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Committee on Violation of Protocol Norms and Contemptuous Behaviour of Government Officers with Members of Lok Sabha
12 Nov. 2014 onwards Member, Parliament Library Committee
28 July 2016 onwards Member, Committee on Estimates
22 Dec. 2017 onwards Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes